Op Art Gallery

Jen Stark was born in Miami and uses very simple tools to create extravagant sculptures. “She frequently challenges the constrictions of paper by creating three-dimensional sculptures” which are exhibited throughout the U.S. She Currently lives and works in Miami, Florida.

Bridget Riley was born in Norwood, South London in 1931. She was one of the founding artists of the Op Art movement which was ” a form of geometric abstraction, which was in a way impersonal and not obviously related to the real world.” Bridget Riley would influence artists such as Jen Stark.

My theme for this presentation was Op Art. The reason being, I saw Jen Stark’s paper sculptures and was captivated by their simplicity and complexity. Bridget Riley is another prominant Op Artist that helped start the movement. I think it is interesting to see where Op Art began and what it has become, its evolution in a sense.

Sources:

Bridget Riley

http://www.jenstark.com

About mattrobinson13

My name is Matt Robinson and I am currently a student at the University of Alaska Fairbanks where I am majoring in Fisheries and History.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Op Art Gallery

  1. billsbuz says:

    I really like this blog. These pieces are intriguing to say the least. The things these artists achieve with simple paper is amazing. You did a great job on the blog and in the words of my son you selection is “cool”.

  2. ksshotwell says:

    Great blog! You definitely picked a topic that is rare. The fact that these people only used paper to create the illusions is simply amazing! By the way, “Coriolis Effect” is ridiculous and is by far my favorite of the group.

Leave a comment